Tentative Race Plan

Southern Saratoga YMCA 5k 

I think this was my first 5k race. I was young (elementary school age), eager, and charged off the line only to die later. My family cheered for me from our front yard around the 2 mile mark and I could tell they could tell I was fading. Hopefully, I’ve learned a little since then and I won’t go out too fast. It helps that I’m VERY familiar with the route since I grew up in a house along it.

Fast facts: August 14 (Tuesday) at 6:30 PM. Day of race registration available until 30 min. prior to start. $25. FLAT

Helpers Fund 5k

This race is part of the Adirondack Marathon Distance Festival. I remember it as a small, intimate race, but it could have grown in the last 5 years. At the time, I had what was probably an undiagnosed stress fracture, but I never had to get it checked out because I got real sick about a month after this race and couldn’t run for a long time. Oh, the memories…

Fast facts: September 22 (Saturday) at 9:30 AM. Day of race registration available 7-8:30 AM. $15 by Sept. 18, $21 starting Sept. 19. The awards were wooden carved bears holding a bottle of maple syrup.

12th Annual Great Pumpkin Challenge 5k

I’ve never run this, but I want to race in Saratoga this fall. Unfortunately, it isn’t the same course I grew up racing, but I think it would still be nice to be racing at the Spa in fall. I’m considering this race instead, but I wish it wasn’t a Sunday. I’ll decide when the time comes.

Fast facts: October 20 at 9:30 AM. No day of race registration. $22 before 10/1; $25 before 10/20.

The Foundation for Ellis Medicine’s Cardiac Classic 5k

This is the race. This is the race I’m looking to run well. I ran it last year and really enjoyed the course. My family decided that everyone would run it this year. I hope they’re still looking forward to it…

Fun facts: November 22 (Thanksgiving Day!) at 9:00 AM. No day of race registration. It does have a gradual hill about midway, but it races like a fast, flat course.

Well, there you have it. My tentativerace plan based on my tentative training plan. I have no idea whether the plan in my head is really going to work out. I’m giving my foot another month to heal before I really start training. Should I call the doctor? Probably. I keep telling myself that he’s just going to tell me what I already know. To rest it. Don’t run. Don’t do anything that makes it hurt. He barely looked at me during my last appointment. I was in the office for almost 1.5 hours and I saw the doctor for maybe 2 minutes. I’m not eager to go back there and the thing is…it doesn’t hurt that bad. Are those good excuses? 😉

I’m antsy to be pain free again. It’s really throwing a kink in my ability to pretend to be a gymnast. But, huzzah! Track and Field starts TODAY!! Don’t know anything about track? Check out The Non-Track Fan’s Guide to the Olympics for some pointers.

Reflecting on this today: “…for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.” ~I Timothy 4:8

Leave a Reply

