“Not to us, O LORD, not to us, but to your name give glory”

I’ve gone and done it. I’ve started a blog. Let me explain it from the beginning…

A year ago, I was in the midst of summer training. After a five year hiatus from competitive running (4 years at Syracuse University gettin’ learned and 1 year adjusting to married life/overcoming a mysterious illness), I decided in May 2011 to try out for the cross-country team at the school where I would be seeking my masters degree. I didn’t even know if it was possible, but I had to try. At the time, I was an assistant for the girls’ track team at my old high school. I loved watching our tiny team improve throughout the season, but I wasn’t satisfied with recording splits I knew I could still run. I realized that I missed it. All of it. I missed the long runs, the hill workouts, and the mile repeats.

So, I prayed. I told God what I wanted to do and asked that He would make it clear whether it was something I ought to do. With a crazy dream and an encouraging husband, I started making my “old” body start moving again. I am so thankful for a coach who was kind and welcoming to me, a stranger he only knew through e-mail. I received a summer training plan, access to the team’s on-line training log, and got to work at the beginning of June. I only had three months to get in 40 miles a week shape. 40/wk may not seem like that much to some, but it was a lot for me when I was starting out at ZERO.

All summer long, I ran and I recorded everything on-line for strangers (soon-t0-be teammates/coaches) to see. It kept me accountable. If I didn’t run the week it was in the 90s with 1,000% humidity, they would know and I didn’t want to let them down. It paid off. I made the team and the rest is history. Apparently, I was the only one who thought 1) I wasn’t fast enough and 2) that the NCAA had some rule that would prevent me from being eligible (that came later).  Despite my doubts about my abilities, God made it clear that this was something I ought to do!

I had a great cross season not because I was blowing people out of the water with my times, but because I was accomplishing goals I hadn’t thought possible just months before. On November 6, I toed the line for the NCAA Northeast Regional inBoston. I remember thinking, with my wonderful husband and Mom in support behind me, what a blessing. I prayed the opening line of Psalm 115:1 (see title) as I always did prior to races. Praying that what I accomplished in the race that day would not bring glory to myself, but to God. I ended up having a bad race. Physically, I felt turrible. Just turrible. My legs were like lead from the gun. There was no pop. No magic feeling of invincibility. It was just the grueling act of putting one foot in front of the other for 6 kilometers. When I finished the race, I couldn’t say “Wow, Molly! Look what you’ve done!”  But, I was still able to say “Wow, God! Look what you’ve done!” He brought me all the way to a finish line I never expected to reach.

I still have one year left of grad school, but no more eligibility to participate in college sports. I don’t know where God is leading me now, but I’m excited to find out and for you to join me in this adventure. I will be logging my workouts every week and feeding you bits of inspiration in other posts. Bear with me in the beginning weeks as I work to get back in shape. On July 4th I hopped in a 5k and clocked one of my slowest 5ks ever, BUT I still had fun and enjoyed being surrounded by all different types of runners. For now, my only goal is to break 20 in the 5k again. Simple enough, right? Gulp.

Feel free to comment. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a comment